Modify an Existing Workflow

To modify a workflow, follow these steps: 

Note – Before modifying a workflow ensure that there are no tasks which are in progress for the respective workflowAll tasks for the workflow should be approved. 

  1. Click on the Settings icon at the top right corner on the Home page. 
  2. From the left menu select Advanced. 
  3. Select Workflow > Setup 
  4. Search for the workflow that is to be modified. 

Below are the actions/changes a user can perform in this section. 

Field/Option  Details 
   Edit  Click on edit and change the workflow description. 
    

Criteria 

This option is used to define/modify existing workflow criteria.
 

Refer to section 1.for details on what actions a user can perform under each section.
 

Step  A user can use this option to Add New/Modify existing workflow steps.

Refer to section 1.2 for more details. 

1.1 Defining Workflow Criteria 

Administrators can specify which Criteria/Events will trigger a workflow.  

Against the relevant workflow: 

  • Click on Criteria. 

Below is the list of actions a user can perform in this section. 
 

Field/Option  Details 
Add criteria  Administrators can specify additional criteria which will trigger this workflow. 

 

<Field>  This field will appear only if a workflow criteria field is configured for the Object.
Using this option administrators can control which workflow to trigger based on the value selected for the workflow criteria field for a record. 
Delete  

 

This option allows administrators to delete existing criteria. 
  •  Click on Save after modifying the required criteria.

1.2 Adding a New / Modify an Existing Step. 

Against the relevant workflow: 

  • Click on Step  
  • Click on Add Step to add a new workflow step or Edit to modify an existing step. 

The Basic Details step is displayed with the following details: 

Field/Option  Details 
Description  User can modify the step description under this section 
Step Type  Cannot be modified. 
 Recipient Type  Cannot be modified 
 Approved By  User can change approved preferences using this option. 
Role Approval By  User can change approved preferences using this option. 
Task Subject  User can modify the Task subject using this option. 
Agent Determination Type  In this section users can remove/modify add custom API Enhancements added to the step. 
Step Priority  User can modify the priority for a step. 
  •  Click on Next. 

The Define Recipients step is displayed. In this section user can modify which User(s)/Role(s) should action this step. 

    • Select the required role(s)/User(s) and click on ‘Assign’ to add it to the step. 
    • Select the required role(s)/User(s) and click on ‘Unassign’ to remove it from a step. 
  • Click on Next. 

The Rejection and Notification step is displayed. In this section users can specify Reminder Details, Escalation Details and Rejection Details. 

Below is the list of actions a user can perform under each section. 

Reminder Details 

      SLA Hours  Administrators can modify the time allocated for the assigned User(s)/Role(s) to complete a step. 
    Grace Period (Hrs)  Administrators can modify the additional time granted beyond the designated SLA hours before the first reminder is triggered. 
    Interval (Hrs)  Administrators can modify the time interval between any additional reminders. 
  Occurrences  Administrators can modify how many times a reminder email will be sent post the designated SLA Hours 

Escalation Details 

    Grace Period (Hrs)  Administrators can modify the additional time granted beyond the designated SLA hours before the first reminder is triggered. 
    Interval (Hrs)  Administrators can modify the time interval between any additional reminders. 
  Re-occurring  Administrators can modify if escalation mails to managers should be recurring or should only be sent for a specific number of times.  
Occurrences  Administrators can modify how many times a reminder email will be sent after the designated SLA Hours. 

Rejection Details 

Activate Rejection  Administrators can modify whether to activate rejection for a step. 
Rejection Message  Administrators can modify what message should be sent to users if the request is rejected. 
Enhancement Point  In this section users can remove/modify/add custom API Enhancements added to the step. 
Rejection Criteria  Using this option Administrators can modify what will happen to the request if it is rejected in a step. 
Reject to Step  This option is only available if Rejection Criteria is selected as ‘Reject to Selected User’.
Using this option Administrators can modify to which step the request should go for review and resubmission if rejected. 
Terminate on Rejection  Activating/Deactivating this option allows users to modify whether a request should be terminated if it is rejected in the selected step.  
  • Click on Next.   

The Additional Settings step is displayed. Below is the list of options available in this section. 

 Add Decisions  This option is used to modify whether this step should support decisions. 
Workflow field  Visible only if ‘Add Decisions’ check box is enabled.
Administrators can add new/remove fields in the workflow fields section. 
Re-Verification Required.  Administrators can modify whether reverification is required for a step. 
Inbox Approval  Administrators can modify whether inbox approval should be enabled/disabled for a step. 
Priority Editable  Administrators can modify whether to allow users to change the priority of a task from their inbox. 
  • Click on Finish to save the workflow step.  
  • Click on Back after all changes have been made to return to the Workflow Setup list.